This is asiafortress

welcome

Ready to LAN?

Upcoming
  • asiafortress cup 14
Badaimer :/

Need help with cl_interp

Alright then, so I've been messing around with my cl_interp quite a bit recently, and I have a few basic questions to ask (cuz im a newb). So here it is:

1. What does it change/do?
2. How to set up an optimum cl_interp for each class?
3. Will it affect your aiming and gameplay? Will your aim become inconsistent that way?
4. Is it recommended to often change your cl_interp?
5. Is it about the server your connected to? And how would you change your cl_interp in different servers?

The reason I asked these questions, is that I keep changing my cl_interp, hoping to get a better aim that way. Somehow, each time I open TF2, I can't aim with the previous cl_interp I used. For me, wierdly, I can aim better when I changed my cl_interp to another value. And then somehow, the next time I open TF2, I need yet another cl_interp to aim better.

I just feel strange to change the cl_interp everytime I open TF2. It might also be the reason that I have inconsistent aim, or the other way round, that I need to constantly change cl_interp as I have inconsistent aim.

These are the values I most commonly use:
cl_interp 0.02
cl_interp 0.034
cl_interp 0.0134
cl_interp 0

If I remember, I got the value cl_interp 0 from Fuzz.

Extra question: Whats interp ratio? How on earth is it related to the above cl_interp?

Thanks for taking your time reading this. And hopefully an early thank you for your answer.

- Badaimer / TOTAL TRYHARD

P.S. sorz for bad engleesh.

1. It gives you fake lag or what you can say is delaying your input i think

2. Valve did an update and now you cannot change your interp unless you join spec/leave, so setting up an interp for each class is now useless

3. I keep it as low as possible so I don't get magical rockets

4. It's preference for everyone

5. Well you cant go 5 ms in a 200 ping server, I just keep the same interp